Jilly’s: Of All Things Sweet and Sweeter

There’s no better time than the present to dive back into the world of blogging–or, as I prefer to think of it, chronicling the adventures as I plunge into the St. Louis life. Via cupcakes.

Cupcakes aren’t exactly a staple here, but there sure is a place I’ve heard about since my arrival here a year ago: Jilly’s Cupcake Bar & Cafe. If you’re picturing a dimly lit establishment right now, allow that image to evaporate from your head. After two visits (several months apart, mind you), I can confidently report that Jilly’s is a neon color explosion. Mixed with some white. And loads of frosting. The only “bar” effect you’ll find here is the sugar intoxication you’ll suffer after ingesting one of their sweet confections. Take, for instance, “Chocolate Thunder,” “24-Karot Carrot Cake,” or one of this month’s creations, “Pineapple Upside Down.”

On my latest visit, I sampled “Chocolate Thunder.” Who could resist? But not to worry, because I captured photo evidence before the deliciousness got demolished.

The "Chocolate Thunder" cupcake is one of many delicious creations available at Jilly's.
The “Chocolate Thunder” cupcake is one of many delicious creations available at Jilly’s.

Have I mentioned the size of these cupcakes? They’re not like the dainty things we create in our home ovens. These mega-giant, behemoth offerings can tip the scales at nearly half of a pound. You will probably feel full after three quarters of one (so it’s probably not a good idea to get too many if you go).

From my observation, you can probably expect to spend between 5 dollars and 6.50, depending how many fancy you go or how many flavors, fillings, and toppings are packed into one. For the purists out there who don’t want the extra bells and whistles on their miniature frosted cakes, there are “Simply Iced” cupcakes available as well.

So make a date of it! The first time I went, I was accompanied by my main man, and the second time around I ventured in alone on a whim.

Jilly’s is located on the corner of Delmar and North McKnight Road, just off I-170. If you’re planning to be in the area anyway to explore the Loop, then Jilly’s is definitely worth the stop. USA Today would approve.

One thought on “Jilly’s: Of All Things Sweet and Sweeter”

What do you think?

